Webinar: Disability Rights – Strategic Messaging

Thursday, 10 November 2016

Loading Events

All Events

  • This event has passed.

Webinar:

DISABILITY RIGHTS: STRATEGIC MESSAGING

aaa

Organised by the European Foundation Centre Disability Thematic Network and the Ariadne/IHRFG Disability Rights Working Group

 

Thursday, November 10, 2016

9:30 am – 10:30 am EDT (New York Time)

2:30 pm – 3:30pm BST (London Time)

3:30 pm – 4:30 pm CET (Brussels Time)

 

This webinar will explore strategies to more effectively communicate about disability and human rights. The CRPD, ushered in a major paradigm shift: from viewing people with disability as a vulnerable object of charity to active change agents in their own lives, holding rights. Yet, our communications approaches have not yet caught up to these philosophical and legal changes. Inspired by the research done by Frameworks Institute, this webinar will facilitate a discussion on effective ways to create and reframe disability messaging. What do these communications look like right now? Who is the audience? Might there be more effective communications approaches to support the change in attitudes needed to full embrace a social model of disabilities?

 Introduction:

Silvia BALMAS, Thematic Network Coordinator, European Foundation Centre (EFC)

Danielle STOUCK, Program Coordinator, International Human Rights Funders Group (IHRFG)

Moderator:

Michael FEMBEK, Zero Project Director, ESSL Foundation

Speaker:

Catherine TOWNSEND, Senior Program Officer, Wellspring Advisors 

 

Register for this webinar by sending an email to Silvia Balmas. (sbalmas@efc.be)

 

Details

Date:
10 November 2016
Time:
15:30 - 16:30
Event Tags:
, , ,